Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.
 
Log in  ::  Register  ::  Not logged in
 
 
 
        
Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On


Add to briefcase

Warning message for user having no db_owner permission but having full permission for the table Expand / Collapse
Author
Message
Posted Friday, April 19, 2013 4:16 AM
SSC Veteran

SSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC Veteran

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Friday, July 25, 2014 10:34 PM
Points: 265, Visits: 1,714
I am accessing my sql server 2008 r2 express server using SSMS. I have about 5 logins. For a particular login i hav all server roles other than sysadmin.In user roles it has only "public" permission for a database.
For that database in properties->permission i gave all values 'grant '. Then for some table i restricted the access in table properties.

Now when i login by using this user i can access the database and access all tables other than for which i have completely restricted access. So it is what has to be according what permission i gave.

only problem is when i access other tables and open designs i get message like

"You are not logged on as the database owner or system administrator. You might not be able to save changes to tables that you do not own."

But i am able to edit design. And after editing design when i save i again get message like "Warning were encountered during the pre-save validation process, and might result in a failure during save. Do you want to continue attempting to save?" .Now on clicking save the design gets saved with the changes i have done. It is ok that it got edited because the user has permission for that table.
But why does those message come even if i have full permission to edit database and design.(even though i don't have db_owner) ?
Can i avoid those messages? Or is there any problem to database if i edit in user with no db_owner permission?




Post #1444299
Posted Friday, April 19, 2013 4:46 AM


SSCertifiable

SSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiable

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Today @ 5:17 AM
Points: 5,230, Visits: 9,457
It's probably the application checking that you're a member of the db_owner role before you make the changes. If it allows you to proceed despite the fact you're not a member, you should be OK, provided you have sufficient permissions to make all the changes you're attempting.

John
Post #1444302
Posted Friday, April 19, 2013 5:37 AM
SSC Veteran

SSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC Veteran

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Friday, July 25, 2014 10:34 PM
Points: 265, Visits: 1,714
But that message is irritating as it comes every time.
Post #1444325
Posted Friday, April 19, 2013 5:40 AM


SSCertifiable

SSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiable

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Today @ 5:17 AM
Points: 5,230, Visits: 9,457
I'm sure it is. You'll either have to give db_owner access or speak to the vendor.

John
Post #1444329
« Prev Topic | Next Topic »

Add to briefcase

Permissions Expand / Collapse