Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase

Help On Execution Plan Status Expand / Collapse
Author
SSC Veteran

SSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC Veteran

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Friday, November 7, 2014 2:28 AM
Hi All,

I am a newbie in SQL Server and like exploring it. Currently i was working with some complex queries and happen to see there Execution Plan. I saw that there were some Clustered index which were 'ClusteredIndexSeek' and Some Clustered Index as 'ClusteredIndexScan'.

So my basic question is, how does the query analyzer decide when to used ClusteredIndexScan and when to used ClusteredIndexSeek.
Post #1391318
Posted Friday, November 30, 2012 8:04 AM
SSC-Enthusiastic

SSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-Enthusiastic

Last Login: Thursday, March 6, 2014 1:35 AM
Paul White's blog series will pretty much any question you could ever think of on this.
http://www.sqlservercentral.com/articles/SQL+Server+2008/71019/

For better, quicker answers on T-SQL questions, read Jeff Moden's suggestions.

"Million-to-one chances crop up nine times out of ten." ― Terry Pratchett, Mort
Post #1391333
Posted Friday, November 30, 2012 8:12 AM

SSC-Forever

SSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-Forever

Last Login: Today @ 1:13 PM
Seek when there's a SARGable predicate (<column> <comparison operator> <expression>) on the index key columns. Scan if there isn't. Very, very simplified, but that's the basics.

Gail Shaw
Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server 2008, MVP
SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter