Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase 12»»

Degree of parallelism in SQL Server Expand / Collapse
Author
Posted Friday, September 21, 2012 10:48 AM
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Friday, March 28, 2014 9:51 AM
I have a question on Degree of Parallelism. I basically want to know the best practice or guidelines to set the degree of parallelism. I looked at the Microsoft Sites for some guide which I found but only confusing.

So let me start with a simple queston.

If we have set the degree of parallelism to just 1, we suppress the ability of SQL server running query in parallel when it needs to be. Will that impact heavy processing stored procedures or SQLs? Because we do see some issues such as timeouts etc in the batch process we run during the night.

We are perfomance tuning at the same time and doing what we can do with indexes statistics, but still that does not help.

What are the disadvantages of setting the degree of parallelism to 1?
Post #1362850
Posted Friday, September 21, 2012 11:45 PM
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Last Login: Thursday, October 2, 2014 9:20 AM
Hi
Performance of MaxDop (maximum degree of parallelism) depends on your hardware configuration and if any other applications running on same server too. If you use parallelism, it will introduce some overhead to small queries. Now it depends on how many db instance you have and what type of operations (select queries & insert/update/delete queries) are being executed.

Regarding indexes, if it suites you, you may use maintenance plan to rebuild indexes on suitable intervals. However it may not solve your performance problems always.

Thanks
Post #1363074