Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase

Cubes without A Data Warehouse? Expand / Collapse
Author

SSC-Enthusiastic

SSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-Enthusiastic

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Wednesday, February 12, 2014 6:15 AM
Greetz!

I'm new to the BI space and have been asked to look into using cubes without building a datawarehouse or otherwise restructuring the current reporting database that is in use. Everything I've seen in the way of articles and tutorials about cubes use the AdventureWorksDW database and nothing has used a relational model. Is it possible to build cubes of relational tables? I'm guessing the performance would be abysmal but I'm not certain. Would this solution, if possible, suffice for a small number of users (like 5) doing ad hoc reporting?

Any good resources you have for learing more on this would be great.

Thanks!

Love them all ... regardless.
- Buddha
Post #1336678
Posted Sunday, July 29, 2012 3:31 PM

Hall of Fame

Hall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of Fame

Last Login: Tuesday, January 28, 2014 8:15 AM
I remember developers creating Cognos cubes out of a relational database so the answer would be yes, it is possible.

Author of Understanding Database Administration available at Amazon and other bookstores.

Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.
Post #1337034
Posted Monday, July 30, 2012 12:12 AM

SSChampion