Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase 123»»»

Holy Foreign Keys and Indexes Expand / Collapse
Author
SSC-Enthusiastic

SSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-Enthusiastic

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Tuesday, July 8, 2014 1:20 PM
Comments posted to this topic are about the item Holy Foreign Keys and Indexes

Jimmy

"I'm still learning the things i thought i knew!"
Post #1187628
Posted Monday, October 10, 2011 3:04 AM
Grasshopper

GrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopper

Last Login: Wednesday, May 16, 2012 5:06 AM
A while ago, also in SQL Server 2005, I had a strange report of failure to insert a duplicate. The error message named the wrong index - very misleading. Never got to the bottom of why the wrong index was identified. Wonder if it was related to what you are describing here?
Post #1187768
Posted Monday, October 10, 2011 3:07 AM
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Last Login: Wednesday, October 12, 2011 12:10 AM
I'm sorry to say that this issue still exists in SQL Server 2008 (10.0.4000.0) SP2

We had it the other day on one of our system test databases that had through a similar scenario to you, with a PK field originally non-clustered, and an IX_BaseTable added as clustered separately.

Microsoft SQL Server 2008 (SP2) - 10.0.4000.0 (X64)
Sep 16 2010 19:43:16 Copyright (c) 1988-2008 Microsoft Corporation Enterprise Edition (64-bit) on Windows NT 6.0 <X64>
(Build 6002: Service Pack 2)
Post #1187769
Posted Monday, October 10, 2011 3:27 AM
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Last Login: Thursday, September 4, 2014 12:38 AM