Which is more efficient? WHERE SUBSTRING = ...or... WHERE fldField LIKE 'x%'

• Hi all,

I'm a SQL newbie who sort of inherited a 2005 db. I've got a query that returns a SUBSTRING of a field value in one column. I need to run this query today to only pull records that have a specific substring in that column.

The column containing the values is assigned an alias in the SELECT statement, and I've now learned the SELECT statement isn't processed until after the WHERE statement (yes, that's how new I am!!), so [Column Alias] = 'NCB' won't work in the WHERE statement.

So, which is more efficient?

(1)... WHERE SUBSTRING(fldField,1,3) = 'NCB'

or

(2)... WHERE fldField LIKE 'NCB%'

...or maybe something else I haven't thought of?

I know having the wildcard at the beginning of a LIKE pattern is slower, but since that's not the case here, I have no clue which of the two options above are faster for the SQL engine.

Thanks so much!

[font="Courier New"]
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    ~ SQL newbie hoping to learn ~
    [/font]

• If the column is indexed the like operator seems to work faster , however execution plans are the same , basically a index scan

Jayanth Kurup[/url]

• As you are looking from the start of the column, you can use this

WHERE LEFT(fldField,3) = 'NCB'

- just a little tidier and avoids wildcards.

If you haven't even tried to resolve your issue, please don't expect the hard-working volunteers here to waste their time providing links to answers which you could easily have found yourself.

• Thanks for the quick response. I suspected there might not be much difference. This db is minimally indexed because of the way it is completely repopulated twice an hour (not my design, so I'm not fully familiar with the logic).

[font="Courier New"]
    [/font]

• Phil, you were posting as I was typing my previous post. Thanks! Tidier, indeed.

[font="Courier New"]
    [/font]

• There's a massive difference between the two.