Turn on Scalar Permissions

• We have a production database and also a reporting database, that is essentially just a copy of the original DB. We recently lost the reporting database due to an encryption hack and have had to start again with it.

What I am finding now since we started the second database again is that I can no longer executre scalar functions, where as before I could. These functions and the views associated with these, still work in production, but not in the reporting system. This would indicate to me that there a difference somewhere in the permissions and I am hoping someone can tell me where I can find this so that I can enable it.

I am fairly new to SQL Server (August last year) and haven't had to create any functions myself, nor have I ever really had to set up security permissions. I am hoping that someone can please point me in the right direction as to where I would go to fix this issue.

I have looked at Users, Roles & Security Logins and tried to replicate the original database, but so far with no luck.

If you can please assist me, I would be very greatful. I have to rebuild my database from scratch due to the hack and this is a little bit of a road block for me.

Thanks

• First off, do you have a backup of the reporting database from before the hack? A restore to another server or under a different name would allow you to check what permissions existed. What, no backup?

Next, how is the reporting database maintained? Replication, Log Shipping :angry: , Mirroring with Snapshot, AoHA, ... other?