SSIS - FTP TASK - DYNAMIC FILENAME

• Sorry guys, I'm really new to this. Can somebody tell me the easiest way to use the FTP task with a dynamic local path. I just want the FTP task to send whatever file is in the directory I specify.

I'm creating a package that extracts data from a table to a pipe-delimited file. I then use an external process (since using Expressions for it was a nightmare) to rename the file so that it'll reflect the previous month (e.g. April2008_report.txt). Then, I have to FTP that file. That's where my problem is. It seems I need to specify the exact filename on the local path of the FTP task, and since the filename will change each month... well, you see my problem.

Is there a way to tell the FTP task to just send *.txt, or something to that effect?

Jafar

• If the file is alone in the directory, you could use a ForEach loop and loop through the files (of which there will be one).

I am not sure why you would have had to use an external process to rename the file to the current month / current year. If you were doing this with an expression variable and a file system task, your variable could be used in the ftp task.

The expression for the variable would be:

[font="Courier New"](MONTH(GETDATE()) == 1 ? "January" : MONTH(GETDATE()) == 2 ? "February" : MONTH(GETDATE()) == 3 ? "March" :

MONTH(GETDATE()) == 4 ? "April" : MONTH(GETDATE()) == 5 ? "May" : MONTH(GETDATE()) == 6 ? "June" :

MONTH(GETDATE()) == 7 ? "July" : MONTH(GETDATE()) == 8 ? "August" : MONTH(GETDATE()) == 9 ? "September" :

MONTH(GETDATE()) == 10 ? "October" : MONTH(GETDATE()) == 11 ? "November" :

MONTH(GETDATE()) == 12 ? "December" : "InvalidMonth")

+ (DT_WSTR, 4) DATEPART("YYYY",GETDATE())

+ "_report.txt"[/font]

• You can also use a script task to get your *.txt functionality

This will require writing a function opens an ftp connection.

This is ideal if you can't actually predict the filename beyond a reasonable doubt. If you need this, i'll Post asap.