SQL 2008 on Windows 2008

• I'm going to be installing SQL Server 2008 on Windows Server 2008. While I've installed SQL Server 2008 before, I have zero experience with Windows Server 2008. Which, of course, leaves me with any number of questions about how to set up Win2008 for SQL Server. What options can I ignore? What roles must I set up? Are there any hidden "gotchas" that will burn you if you don't twiddle the right knob? I've been searching Google for info and all I'm finding just raises more questions.

What are your tips, tricks, gotchas, best practices, or advice on installing Windows Server 2008 for running a database?

Thanks in advance,

Steve G.

• I have done it a couple of times and I would start with a server that has as few roles as possible already installed. Don't install anything you absolutely don't need. I don't remember any real gotchas except on my dev box where I had VS2008 and SQL 2008 both installed, there was an install order that I can't quite remember, but it involved VS SP1 because the SQL tools had a problem with VS2008 without it..

CEWII

• In Windows Server 2008 is a Firewall included. You must open the Ports when you would administering with "SQL Studio 2008" from remote on your Win-Server.

• You will have to configure inbound rules for port 1433, 80 and 443 . The last 2 for reporting service and first one for sql server.

Plus rules for sqlservr.exe for sql server, msDTSsrvr.exe for ssis,reportingserverservice.exe for reporting service if u need it. I thinking other than this there is nothing complex about suing windows server 2008