Powershell run specific scripts against each database

• Hi i am new to Powershell and was hoping someone could help

Scenario:

I have one sql script per database called testDB1DBPerms.sql, testDB2DBPerms.sql, testDB3DBPerms.sql, testDB4DBPerms.sql, masterDBPerms.sql, modelDBperms.sql etc stored in a shared file location \\location\scripts\

I have number of databases on my server (note no testDB4 database)

testDB1

testDB2

testDB3

master

model

etc

I wanted to run the correct script against the correct database. Each script has 'USE DB' in the name so I thought it would be easy as I could pipe each script into a variable using Get-ChildItem and then use Invoke-SQLCmd to run each script against the SQL Server as below (obtained from Martin Bell's SQL Server MVP Blog).

foreach ($f in Get-ChildItem -path "\\serveraa\temp\SQLScripts\" -Filter *.sql | sort-object -desc )

{

$out = "C:\temp\SQLScripts\OUTPUT\" + $f.name.split(".")[0] + ".txt" ;

invoke-sqlcmd -InputFile $f.fullname | format-table | out-file -filePath $out

}

Only problem is if I load "testDB4DBPerms.sql" into a variable and then run against a server where "testDB4" database does not exist then the script will fail when it says USE testDB4 in the script

I wanted to load all the files into a variable and then only if the truncated stored name upto 'DBPerms.sql' match a valid database on the server then execute the script. The script can then run on the server and it doesn't have to run in the context of a database as the USE DBName command will be in the script.

hope this makes sense

• I am not sure if this is what you are looking for, but you could try this:

- Load all of the sql scripts into an array

- Connect to the SQL server and run get-childitem to get the database names and put them in an array