Leveraging MERGE for type 2 SCD; logic for most current record

• I am a new data warehouse developer and trying to leverage the MERGE statement to manage type 2 SCD's. I've been consulting many technical articles regarding MERGE and SCD's and have a base understanding of the statement but notice many variations inits construction.

Im uncertain if I can leverage the statement for the application that I need an looking for guidance on syntax structure. In short, I have a Job table that marries a person to a position. The unique keys of the source system table and what I'd like to keep the history of are:

EMPID; the employeeID

RCD; unique instanceof a job for an employee with multiple concurrent jobs

EFFDT; when thetransaction became or becomes formally active or operational

EFFSEQ; indicatessequence of multiple transactions for an employee on a job

Theres not a traditional primary key on this table, but an index primary key based on the above 4 fields- A unique instance of a record, in this case job, are the culmination of these fields.

There can be more than one instance of a job for an employee, there are effectively dated records/version of those (unique) instances. What I’d like to do is 1) insert initial records then new records going forward into the Target or Dimension and then 2) mark the most recent, valid record as “Y” (or ISCURRENT = ‘Y’). The most recent record would be the MAX(EFFDT) and where EFFSEQ = 0 for each RCD or job instance - the image above is an example, this person has 2 jobs - there have changes to those job's code, department and position.

I have a generic MERGE statement, WHEN NOT MATCHED BY TARGET, insert the records, but in the WHEN MATCHED part im a bit at a loss on how/where in syntax to isolate the most recent record (MAX(EFFDT) and where EFFSEQ = 0) OR if I should be nesting the logic in WHEN NOT MATCHED.

Any guidance on structure or direction is much appreciated.

• Regarding RCD >