How to set the primary key for each table

• Hi all.

I am a super noob with SQL server.  and I mean, brand spankin' new noob still with bright sparkly eyes, and dream of grandeur.

So I've imported a pile of tables over from MS Access and discovered the Primary keys are not automatically set.  So now I need to loop through each table and set the primary key for each table
    typically this would be the ID field. I have found the string that allows for modifying at least one table, being:

ALTER TABLE
    Tbl_MyTable
    ADD
    PRIMARY KEY (ID)

But I have a ton of tables and need to be able to loop through them all.
    How do I do this?
    I expect something like:
    For each table in SQL database
       Alter Table
       Etc...
    next table

• Will the Primary Key be the column ID on every table? Also, I assume, you'll want to follow up with Foreign Keys afterwards; not sure you're going to be able to automate that one.

Thom~

Excuse my typos and sometimes awful grammar. My fingers work faster than my brain does.
    Larnu.uk

• There's no 'for each table' construct

You can write some complicated dynamic SQL to generate the ALTER  TABLE  statements automatically, check them all to make sure they're correct and then run them, or you can write the alter statements by hand.
    Unless you've got hundreds of tables, the time required will probably be much the same for the two options.

And then you do still need to go and set the foreign keys, and those will have to be manual. Without foreign keys, SQL doesn't know how the tables are related.

Gail Shaw
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter
    We stand on the bridge and no one may pass
  • It's technically unsupported, but you could use sp_msforeachtable to walk through and do what you want. Here's a link with examples.