Failed 70-462. Worth doing 70-461 before resit?

• Took 462 yesterday and only managed to get 612 vs the pass mark of 700. Main problem is that I'm not a DBA so was doing everything from the book rather than based on experience. I will need to pass this at some point though (I have a Second Shot valid until the end of May).

I'm actually a Senior Developer. I came in this morning and took a practice test for 461. Fifty questions, which I rushed through in 20min without having looked at the book at all yet I still managed 92%.

So, assuming I do a quick "brush up" on 461 (Query Hints and Encryption was what I missed) is it worth taking that before the 462 resit just to get a bit of a confidence boost?

As far as 462 goes does anybody have any tips for the best way to approach this? I think I need to spend more time actually working through examples and case studies from the book but I'm still not sure if that covers everything. I won't say anything about what was in the exam but there were a couple of nasty surprises there for me.

I was hoping to get 462 "out of the way" as the other ones actually reflect what I do in my job. It's a shame that you now need a DBA qualification to get any sort of certification in SQL Server 2012.

• If the Score Sheet they gave you said "Needs Inprovement" on Query Hints & Encryption, those are features that are relatively easy to implement & experiment with on a practice system (assuming you have Enterprise or Developer Edition). That and you probably have a good idea of which questions you were unsure of or had to guess on. Based on that, you probably have some fairly narrow areas to bone up on for a another try. That's what I'd do.

• Unfortunately the 70-461 practice test(s) are NOTHING at all like the actual Certification Test.

I was getting 95% + on practice tests. Took another one this evening after having not looked at ANY of the material for two weeks - and passed it at 90%