Data/Database Career Options and Growth

• I am a database professional who would like some feedback regarding some recent career choices I have made. At the beginning of the year, I became open to new opportunities and within the same week, had two job offers. One was a Database Developer role and the other was an ETL Developer. Although the Database Developer position was with a Fortune 10 company, I ultimately decided to opt for the ETL position. If I was to take the Database Developer role, my daily job duties would solely entail coding in T-SQL. I felt this would have restricted my career path moving forward and that the ETL role could lead to a much wider range of options. I feel that I can now plan to branch out into other fields, such as being a Data Engineer, Data Architect, BI Developer, or even back to a Database Developer if I so choose. To future employers, I don't want to be seen as one-dimensional. My goal is to take courses and become certified in various data-related areas (currently, I am only certified in SQL Server - DB Dev). I would appreciate some views on my career plans. I also wouldn't mind some feedback on my current position as an ETL Developer. Is it a well-respected occupation in the tech world? How does it compare to a SQL Developer in terms of level? Thank you all for your input.

• I can't speak on how ETL developer compares to SQL Developer in terms of level.  They are 2 different roles from my understanding.