Creating new database from another database scripts

• I am new to DBA role. I have requirement below. I have a database environment named SystemApp deployed on Development DB Server. In production server, the database with same name exists which is more updated with latest table definitions & other DB changes. I need to replicate all these changes to our development database. I am doing the following tasks in the order in which it is listed. Kindly look into whether I am doing the correct way. Please correct if I am doing wrong way or something more needs to be added to this list. Thanks.

1) First I will take the DB backup of the database SystemApp deployed on Development DB Server.

2) Take the scripts of DB & DB objects of the database SystemApp deployed on Production DB Server using Tasks >> Generate Scripts option.

3) DROP the database SystemApp deployed on Development DB Server.

4) Run the database scripts of Production DB in Development DB Server.

Will this work ? Kindly guide me on this.

• Thanks for posting your issue and hopefully someone will answer soon.

This is an automated bump to increase visibility of your question.

• How often does this data need to be replicated? Why do you feel the need to drop the development database to refresh the data?  Are there permission differences between the development and production table?

• VSSGeorge wrote:

I am new to DBA role.

Really?  You've been asking questions on here for about nine years.

How did your production database come to be more updated than the development one?  Usually it would be the other way round.  If you have the scripts that you used to update production, run them on the development database.  If you don't, it's probably time to think about getting your code under source control.