Anyone using Mac?

• Hello, all. I'm new to the forum and the industry ... I'm studying database, SQL and SQL server basics.

I need to purchase new computers (both desktop and notebook) and was wondering if anyone has experience, good or bad, with Macs. I know that Apple just released the newest OS, Leopard, which is supposed to actually run Windows itself. But I wanted opinions from folks here before I go forward.

Thank you in advance,

JA

• I bought and installed XP Home Edition on my Wife's new MacBook using VMWare Fusion, and have been delighted with the ability of the XP partition to function exactly as a Win machine. If you needed to install SQL Server in the XP partition I expect it would work. Further, since OSX runs on Unix, you have access to a huge resource of open source software, even beyond what comes included in Leopard. I have not yet tried doing any cross-partition things (e.g. like working via ODBC between MS Access and SQL Lite, but that would be a great learning adventure for you!)

I would not hesitate to recommend a Mac.

• I have a MacBook Pro and an iMac. I would very much recommend them. Build quality is excellent, you can use Bootcamp, VMWare Fusion, or Parallels to run windows software, etc. Any of the three (or a combination of Bootcamp and one of the virtualization products) will work.

More and more I find myself using OSX instead of Windows on them. Then again, I'm in grad school (MBA-Finance), so I am not really using them to play with SQL Server very much.

Check out Jerry Pournelle's (the Sci-Fi Author) website http://www.chaosmanorreviews.com. He is switching over from Windows to Macs and has some interesting insights.

• Thanks so much for your replies.

I'm going to look into VMWare Fusion and make more inquiries into Boot Camp.

How much RAM/disk space did you put on your machines?

I'm going to check out Mr. Pournelle's site as well. Thanks again!