Accept Failure

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Accept Failure

• Spot on, Steve.

I tried to type something more eloquent, but failed, so this'll have to do 😀

• I thought I made an error once but after thorough research, I realized I was mistaken.

• Working agile, following scrum, I find helps overview the state of the projects very well.

This gives management and the people involved in the project a very clear view of the status of the project, amongst other things.

• I would certainly say that as a developer I will do almost anything to avoid failure - I just simply do not accept failure for projects I am working on - there is always a way around things. Perhaps that is indicative of an overly domatic mindset on my part. I can honestly say though that where a project I have been involved with has been abandoned it has been due to either financial problems with the client or due to the expected market not materialising.

• Projects have two main success indicators: Does the end product do what the client wants it to do? Did the project come in under budget?

In order to satisfy the second indicator, you have to build in time to recover from failures, not to mention fulfill the statutory, regulatory, and business rules that govern the development environment. Unfortunately, the "I want it yesterday" mindset of most clients and their failure to understand internal IT requirements for proper configuration, documentation and testing makes this a rare event.

• phegedusich (2/22/2012)

Does the end product do what the client wants it to do?

I've struggled with this many times. The clients give you requirements, you build it exactly as stated in the requirements but it turns out to not meet the client's needs. Then you have scope creep. They change the requirements while you're building it but the budget and timeline doesn't change.