SQL Clone
SQLServerCentral is supported by Redgate

/3GB Switch

/3GB Switch

Author
MichaelJasson
SSC Veteran
SSC Veteran (210 reputation)SSC Veteran (210 reputation)SSC Veteran (210 reputation)SSC Veteran (210 reputation)SSC Veteran (210 reputation)SSC Veteran (210 reputation)SSC Veteran (210 reputation)SSC Veteran (210 reputation)

Group: General Forum Members
There is one requirement that I have to edit boot.ini file and make /3GB switch on in VistaDoze. I am not able to do that. I am a sql server DBA and I used to do this when I used to use win2000 and XP.

-MJ

-MJ
Please do not print mails and docx unless it is absolutely necessary. Spread environmental awareness.
GilaMonster
GilaMonster
SSC Guru
SSC Guru (89K reputation)SSC Guru (89K reputation)SSC Guru (89K reputation)SSC Guru (89K reputation)SSC Guru (89K reputation)SSC Guru (89K reputation)SSC Guru (89K reputation)SSC Guru (89K reputation)

MichaelJasson (6/30/2009)
There is one requirement that I have to edit boot.ini file and make /3GB switch on in VistaDoze.

Why do you want to do that?

Gail Shaw
Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter
We stand on the bridge and no one may pass

Jeffrey Williams 3188
Jeffrey Williams 3188
SSCertifiable
SSCertifiable (8K reputation)SSCertifiable (8K reputation)SSCertifiable (8K reputation)SSCertifiable (8K reputation)SSCertifiable (8K reputation)SSCertifiable (8K reputation)SSCertifiable (8K reputation)SSCertifiable (8K reputation)

I wouldn't think you would want to do that on Vista. If you are running on x86 hardware, then the maximum memory you are going to be able to address is 3GB. Setting that switch won't leave any memory to the OS.

If you are running x64 - that switch won't do anything anyways.

So, I'm with Gail on this one - why do you want to do this?

Jeffrey Williams