SQL Clone
SQLServerCentral is supported by Redgate

Return a Table from a Stored Procedure

Return a Table from a Stored Procedure

Author
goodguy
Ten Centuries
Ten Centuries (1.2K reputation)Ten Centuries (1.2K reputation)Ten Centuries (1.2K reputation)Ten Centuries (1.2K reputation)Ten Centuries (1.2K reputation)Ten Centuries (1.2K reputation)Ten Centuries (1.2K reputation)Ten Centuries (1.2K reputation)

Group: General Forum Members
I am an application programmer using VB6 with SQL Server 2000 as a backend and Crystal Reports 8 as my reporting tool.

Thanks to this site, I can now write stored procedures and invoke them from my app code. But I have yet to master returning a resultset as a table variable to VB6 and CR8.

Currently my sprocs delete all past records in the actual target table before inserting the current ones. Since my app is distributed, I am wondering what will happen when two users invoke the same report simultaneously with different criteria. I've decided it'd be better to switch to table variables instead.

Can anyone help?

Regards,

goodguy

Experience is a bad teacher whose exams precede its lessons

Andras Belokosztolszki
Andras Belokosztolszki
SSCertifiable
SSCertifiable (5.7K reputation)SSCertifiable (5.7K reputation)SSCertifiable (5.7K reputation)SSCertifiable (5.7K reputation)SSCertifiable (5.7K reputation)SSCertifiable (5.7K reputation)SSCertifiable (5.7K reputation)SSCertifiable (5.7K reputation)

Hi,

you could use both table variables and temporary tables. In terms of scope both of them will be restricted to your stored procedures. Both have advantages and disadvantages. Basically if you have very large tables, use temptables.

very simple examples for thes:
declare @table table(a int, b int)
insert into @table values (1,2)
select * from @table

create table #table (a int, b int)
insert into #table values (1,2)
select * from #table

Regards,
Andras

Andras Belokosztolszki, MCPD, PhD
GoldenGate Software
Conway Painting