SQL Clone
SQLServerCentral is supported by Redgate
 
Log in  ::  Register  ::  Not logged in
 
 
 


subscriber''s records disappear with merge replication


subscriber''s records disappear with merge replication

Author
Message
Paul Mu
Paul Mu
Mr or Mrs. 500
Mr or Mrs. 500 (581 reputation)Mr or Mrs. 500 (581 reputation)Mr or Mrs. 500 (581 reputation)Mr or Mrs. 500 (581 reputation)Mr or Mrs. 500 (581 reputation)Mr or Mrs. 500 (581 reputation)Mr or Mrs. 500 (581 reputation)Mr or Mrs. 500 (581 reputation)

Group: General Forum Members
Points: 581 Visits: 391

The snapshot is created based on the publishing database, and you do have the option of not applying this to the subscribing database(s) if you so desire.

As per previous emails, both databases must be exact copies, so depending on the amount of data in the databases, you may want to perform this task before replication is active, otherwise the only other option is to apply the snapshot during replication.


replicationguru
replicationguru
SSC Rookie
SSC Rookie (43 reputation)SSC Rookie (43 reputation)SSC Rookie (43 reputation)SSC Rookie (43 reputation)SSC Rookie (43 reputation)SSC Rookie (43 reputation)SSC Rookie (43 reputation)SSC Rookie (43 reputation)

Group: General Forum Members
Points: 43 Visits: 221
HI,
I suggest you to investigate the "@allow_partition_realignment" publication parameter.
Yu can set it via sp_addmergepublication / sp_changemergepublication

It allows/prevent data at the subscriber (which are not part of the correct partition).

True : sends deletes to the Subscriber to reflect the results of a partition change by removing data that is no longer part of the Subscriber's partition. false leaves the data from an old partition on the Subscriber, where changes made to this data on the Publisher will not replicate to this Subscriber, but changes made on the Subscriber will replicate to the Publisher.
Setting allow_partition_realignment to false is used to retain data in a subscription from an old partition when the data needs to be accessible for historical purposes.

Bye
Go


Permissions

You can't post new topics.
You can't post topic replies.
You can't post new polls.
You can't post replies to polls.
You can't edit your own topics.
You can't delete your own topics.
You can't edit other topics.
You can't delete other topics.
You can't edit your own posts.
You can't edit other posts.
You can't delete your own posts.
You can't delete other posts.
You can't post events.
You can't edit your own events.
You can't edit other events.
You can't delete your own events.
You can't delete other events.
You can't send private messages.
You can't send emails.
You can read topics.
You can't vote in polls.
You can't upload attachments.
You can download attachments.
You can't post HTML code.
You can't edit HTML code.
You can't post IFCode.
You can't post JavaScript.
You can post emoticons.
You can't post or upload images.

Select a forum

































































































































































SQLServerCentral


Search