SQL Clone
SQLServerCentral is supported by Redgate

Profiler - Logging Results to a Table

Profiler - Logging Results to a Table

Author
Grant Cribb
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie (4 reputation)Forum Newbie (4 reputation)Forum Newbie (4 reputation)Forum Newbie (4 reputation)Forum Newbie (4 reputation)Forum Newbie (4 reputation)Forum Newbie (4 reputation)Forum Newbie (4 reputation)

Group: General Forum Members
On a different thought:

I am in the process of auditing security events using a profiler scripts with the output going directly to a file (for all the reasons previously mentioned in this forum).

The problem that I am running across is that the output to the trace file is being buffered (128K) and if a nasty outage occurs before the buffer is flushed (power supply, blue screen, whatever)then the audited security trace is being lost.

I am new to SQL Server 2000, is there something obvious that I have missed (e.g. bypass buffered writes)?

Any tips would be appreciated.
AndrewM-375946
AndrewM-375946
SSC Veteran
SSC Veteran (269 reputation)SSC Veteran (269 reputation)SSC Veteran (269 reputation)SSC Veteran (269 reputation)SSC Veteran (269 reputation)SSC Veteran (269 reputation)SSC Veteran (269 reputation)SSC Veteran (269 reputation)

To setup a trace that only views the last hour but does not run out of space requires the following:

15:00
JOB1-Step 1- The trace script (set to stop after an hour) approx 300Mb, with trc file saved with DATETIME stamp, i.e. 6NOV 2006 1500PM.trc

16:01
JOB 2 Step 1- DROP current table where trc was imported

step 2- use trace_table to import trc file
Ian Cannonier
Ian Cannonier
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie (1 reputation)Forum Newbie (1 reputation)Forum Newbie (1 reputation)Forum Newbie (1 reputation)Forum Newbie (1 reputation)Forum Newbie (1 reputation)Forum Newbie (1 reputation)Forum Newbie (1 reputation)

I have been asked to do a similar task to Grasshopper.