SQL Clone
SQLServerCentral is supported by Redgate

Titles Matter

Titles Matter

Author
Andy Warren
SSChampion
SSChampion (11K reputation)SSChampion (11K reputation)SSChampion (11K reputation)SSChampion (11K reputation)SSChampion (11K reputation)SSChampion (11K reputation)SSChampion (11K reputation)SSChampion (11K reputation)

Group: Moderators
Comments posted to this topic are about the item Titles Matter

Andy
SQLAndy - My Blog!
Connect with me on LinkedIn
Follow me on Twitter
Gary Varga
Gary Varga
SSCoach
SSCoach (16K reputation)SSCoach (16K reputation)SSCoach (16K reputation)SSCoach (16K reputation)SSCoach (16K reputation)SSCoach (16K reputation)SSCoach (16K reputation)SSCoach (16K reputation)

Group: General Forum Members
Working as a freelancer I thought titles would hardly matter but they still do. People like to think in generalised terms and when they glance at your CV/Resume, security badge, LDAP properties etc. they will make assumptions based on what they see. Often Job titles are the very first impressions even before you meet you.

Gaz

-- Stop your grinnin' and drop your linen...they're everywhere!!!
Gary Varga
Gary Varga
SSCoach
SSCoach (16K reputation)SSCoach (16K reputation)SSCoach (16K reputation)SSCoach (16K reputation)SSCoach (16K reputation)SSCoach (16K reputation)SSCoach (16K reputation)SSCoach (16K reputation)

Oh and Andy's career advice regarding learning missing skills associated to the common skill set for a job title you are aiming for is great advice. I have never thought of it in that way on a conscious level but I think I may have done so on some unconscious level.

Gaz

GilaMonster
GilaMonster
SSC Guru
SSC Guru (87K reputation)SSC Guru (87K reputation)SSC Guru (87K reputation)SSC Guru (87K reputation)SSC Guru (87K reputation)SSC Guru (87K reputation)SSC Guru (87K reputation)SSC Guru (87K reputation)

What does "Technical Lead" say about me, I wonder...

Gail Shaw
Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)