SQL Clone
SQLServerCentral is supported by Redgate

Simulate message poisoning in Service Broker

Simulate message poisoning in Service Broker

Author
grantbanjo
Old Hand
Old Hand (302 reputation)Old Hand (302 reputation)Old Hand (302 reputation)Old Hand (302 reputation)Old Hand (302 reputation)Old Hand (302 reputation)Old Hand (302 reputation)Old Hand (302 reputation)

Group: General Forum Members
Hello,
I have set up Service Broker in a test database running on SQL Server 2008 R2. Within this service broker I have applied the steps defined in the following link to send an email alert when message poisoning takes place (five consecutive transaction rollbacks to a queue producing a "Broker:Queue disabled" event).

http://blog.maskalik.com/sql-server-service-broker/setup-disabled-queues-email-notification/

In order to test this I need to simulate message poisoning. As I am new to Service Broker, can somebody provide the steps of simulating message poisoning with five consecutive rollbacks of a transaction to a queue?

Thanks,
Grant
LutzM
LutzM
SSC-Insane
SSC-Insane (24K reputation)SSC-Insane (24K reputation)SSC-Insane (24K reputation)SSC-Insane (24K reputation)SSC-Insane (24K reputation)SSC-Insane (24K reputation)SSC-Insane (24K reputation)SSC-Insane (24K reputation)

A poisoned message is a message leading to an error because of the message itself and not a database condition.
For instance, a message leading to a deadlock is not a poisoned message because it can complete with the next retry.
A message leading to a primary key violation will always fail, regardless of the number of retries (assuming there's no DELETE operation in between...).

To test such a scenario, find a message condition that'll pass your validation process (I hope, there's such a code section ;-) ) but will still fail, leading to a rollback of the code activated by the message.

Without knowing the tasks you trigger with a SSSB message it's hard to tell how to simulate a poisoned message...