SQL Clone
SQLServerCentral is supported by Redgate

Update master from detail

Update master from detail

Author
JimS-Indy
SSC-Addicted
SSC-Addicted (453 reputation)SSC-Addicted (453 reputation)SSC-Addicted (453 reputation)SSC-Addicted (453 reputation)SSC-Addicted (453 reputation)SSC-Addicted (453 reputation)SSC-Addicted (453 reputation)SSC-Addicted (453 reputation)

Group: General Forum Members
I have a timesheet master table and a related timesheet detail table. Each detail row could trigger need for an override approval of the whole timesheet. Currently, I have an ASP.Net application that checks for 1 or more detail rows needing override approval, and updates the master column "RequiresOV" (int). I'm thinking of setting a trigger on the detail table to do the update on the master automatically anytime a row requiring override permission is added, updated, or deleted. It would simply add up all the detail rows requiring Override, and update the master appropriately.

Alternatively, I could make the column in the master a computed column that does roughly the same thing.

Override rows are uncommon, say 5% of timesheets contain an override row. The average timesheet has maybe 300 rows, and there are maybe a dozen timesheets submitted per week. Some are submitted in bulk (uploaded from a workbook...) and some are hand-entered in an ASP.Net app, one row at a time.

What do you guys think?

Jim
Sergiy
Sergiy
SSChampion
SSChampion (10K reputation)SSChampion (10K reputation)SSChampion (10K reputation)SSChampion (10K reputation)SSChampion (10K reputation)SSChampion (10K reputation)SSChampion (10K reputation)SSChampion (10K reputation)

Group: General Forum Members
I would not update the master table but set up another "queue" table for approval requests.
Once a "details" row is updates the coresponding key value is inserted by the trigger into the "queue" table, unless it's not already there:
INSERT INTO Queue (MasterKey)
SELECT MasterKey FROM Details D