SQL Clone
SQLServerCentral is supported by Redgate

Using REPLACE with a string where I need to replace %anystring% with some new string

Using REPLACE with a string where I need to replace %anystring% with some new string

Author
Jared Karney
SSChampion
SSChampion (13K reputation)SSChampion (13K reputation)SSChampion (13K reputation)SSChampion (13K reputation)SSChampion (13K reputation)SSChampion (13K reputation)SSChampion (13K reputation)SSChampion (13K reputation)

Group: General Forum Members
Hi everyone,

I am actually fairly new to using the REPLACE function and don't know if I can use regex with it. The string that I want to replace is always between 2 % characters and includes the % characters.

Sample data:
SELECT 'somestring+%sometext%' AS string
INTO #temp
UNION ALL
SELECT '%sometext%'
UNION ALL
SELECT 'somestring+%sometext%+somesecondstring'

So I would like the results when selected from the tale to look like this (no update needed, this is just a query):
SELECT 'somestring+replaced' AS newString
UNION ALL
SELECT 'replaced'
UNION ALL
SELECT 'somestring+replaced+somesecondstring'

So, can I use the REPLACE function to find the '%whatever%' string?

Thanks,
Jared
PFE - Microsoft
SQL Know-It-All
How to post data/code on a forum to get the best help - Jeff Moden
GSquared
GSquared
SSC Guru
SSC Guru (58K reputation)SSC Guru (58K reputation)SSC Guru (58K reputation)SSC Guru (58K reputation)SSC Guru (58K reputation)SSC Guru (58K reputation)SSC Guru (58K reputation)SSC Guru (58K reputation)

I could be wrong, but I'm pretty sure Replace() won't take regex or other patterns. I'm pretty sure it only deals with strings or string-type variables with pre-defined values.

However, solving this with Stuff() would be quite easy.

SELECT  string,
CHARINDEX('%', string, 1),
CHARINDEX('%', string, CHARINDEX('%', string, 1) + 1) - CHARINDEX('%', string, 1),
STUFF(string, CHARINDEX('%', string, 1),