SQL Clone
SQLServerCentral is supported by Redgate

Holy Foreign Keys and Indexes

Holy Foreign Keys and Indexes

Author
imSQrLy
SSC Veteran
SSC Veteran (287 reputation)SSC Veteran (287 reputation)SSC Veteran (287 reputation)SSC Veteran (287 reputation)SSC Veteran (287 reputation)SSC Veteran (287 reputation)SSC Veteran (287 reputation)SSC Veteran (287 reputation)

Group: General Forum Members
Comments posted to this topic are about the item Holy Foreign Keys and Indexes

Jimmy

"I'm still learning the things i thought i knew!"
BredonHill
BredonHill
SSC Journeyman
SSC Journeyman (85 reputation)SSC Journeyman (85 reputation)SSC Journeyman (85 reputation)SSC Journeyman (85 reputation)SSC Journeyman (85 reputation)SSC Journeyman (85 reputation)SSC Journeyman (85 reputation)SSC Journeyman (85 reputation)

A while ago, also in SQL Server 2005, I had a strange report of failure to insert a duplicate. The error message named the wrong index - very misleading. Never got to the bottom of why the wrong index was identified. Wonder if it was related to what you are describing here?
Merrick Chaffer
Merrick Chaffer
Grasshopper
Grasshopper (12 reputation)Grasshopper (12 reputation)Grasshopper (12 reputation)Grasshopper (12 reputation)Grasshopper (12 reputation)Grasshopper (12 reputation)Grasshopper (12 reputation)Grasshopper (12 reputation)

I'm sorry to say that this issue still exists in SQL Server 2008 (10.0.4000.0) SP2

We had it the other day on one of our system test databases that had through a similar scenario to you, with a PK field originally non-clustered, and an IX_BaseTable added as clustered separately.

Microsoft SQL Server 2008 (SP2) - 10.0.4000.0 (X64)
Sep 16 2010 19:43:16 Copyright (c) 1988-2008 Microsoft Corporation Enterprise Edition (64-bit) on Windows NT 6.0 <X64>
(Build 6002: Service Pack 2)
serejka058
serejka058
Grasshopper