Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Redgate

Database Cloning?

Database Cloning?

Author
PompeyTID
Grasshopper
Grasshopper (19 reputation)Grasshopper (19 reputation)Grasshopper (19 reputation)Grasshopper (19 reputation)Grasshopper (19 reputation)Grasshopper (19 reputation)Grasshopper (19 reputation)Grasshopper (19 reputation)

Group: General Forum Members
Hi fellow DBA's,

While I've been a DBA for a few years now, I'm rather green when it comes to SQL Server so please forgive the basic nature of this query.

Some developer types would like a database to be cloned, ie copied with all the objects, users, permissions, etc just without the data, so that only the bare bones/schema exists in the new one. Just wondering the best way of doing this?
I figured using DTS as it's worked good for the noddy N'wind DB, but is this the best way?

Thanks in advance,
Jules
David.Poole
David.Poole
SSCarpal Tunnel
SSCarpal Tunnel (4.5K reputation)SSCarpal Tunnel (4.5K reputation)SSCarpal Tunnel (4.5K reputation)SSCarpal Tunnel (4.5K reputation)SSCarpal Tunnel (4.5K reputation)SSCarpal Tunnel (4.5K reputation)SSCarpal Tunnel (4.5K reputation)SSCarpal Tunnel (4.5K reputation)

I have two database servers where the logins have been transferred so they both have the same sid values.

This means that I can simply do an automated BACKUP and RESTORE and know that the database will work on both machines.

In your case, you simply need to add a script to TRUNCATE all tables after performing your RESTORE.

LinkedIn Profile

Newbie on www.simple-talk.com
Japie Botma
Japie Botma
SSC Veteran
SSC Veteran (200 reputation)SSC Veteran (200 reputation)SSC Veteran (200 reputation)SSC Veteran (200 reputation)SSC Veteran (200 reputation)SSC Veteran (200 reputation)SSC Veteran (200 reputation)SSC Veteran (200 reputation)

I think DTS (Import objects) will be the best. Save the package because they might want to do it in the future again.

5ilverFox
Consulting DBA
South Africa