SQL Clone
SQLServerCentral is supported by Redgate

Migration of SQL Server 2008 R2 to AWS cloud

Migration of SQL Server 2008 R2 to AWS cloud

Author
muth_51
SSCrazy Eights
SSCrazy Eights (9K reputation)SSCrazy Eights (9K reputation)SSCrazy Eights (9K reputation)SSCrazy Eights (9K reputation)SSCrazy Eights (9K reputation)SSCrazy Eights (9K reputation)SSCrazy Eights (9K reputation)SSCrazy Eights (9K reputation)

Group: General Forum Members
Hi,

I am new to AWS cloud- can any one tell me what would be the steps to migrate SQL Server instances into AWS.
I already have SQLinstance created on AWS cloud

I am thinking of below steps to move the databases:

1. Moving SQL job, Windows batch jobs
2. Moving SQL logins, permissions
3. Moving Application roles
4.Does backup restore of database works? from SQL server instance to AWS SQL instance? or i need to first create the schema and then export the data in the tables?

Does any one has done this migration earlier. Please share your experience.

Thanks.
YeeHwua
YeeHwua
Old Hand
Old Hand (357 reputation)Old Hand (357 reputation)Old Hand (357 reputation)Old Hand (357 reputation)Old Hand (357 reputation)Old Hand (357 reputation)Old Hand (357 reputation)Old Hand (357 reputation)

1. Moving SQL job, Windows batch jobs
2. Moving SQL logins, permissions
3. Moving Application roles

yes, these are need to be done prior moving.
I was using Visual Studio integration service to transfer login and jobs

4.Does backup restore of database works? from SQL server instance to AWS SQL instance? or i need to first create the schema and then export the data in the tables?

No, backup restore doesn't work.
you need do as you mentioned.
muth_51
muth_51
SSCrazy Eights
SSCrazy Eights (9K reputation)SSCrazy Eights (9K reputation)SSCrazy Eights (9K reputation)SSCrazy Eights (9K reputation)SSCrazy Eights (9K reputation)SSCrazy Eights (9K reputation)SSCrazy Eights (9K reputation)SSCrazy Eights (9K reputation)

Thanks.