Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Redgate

Identifying Facts and Dimensions.. Urgent Help Required..

Identifying Facts and Dimensions.. Urgent Help Required..

Author
a4apple
SSC-Enthusiastic
SSC-Enthusiastic (186 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (186 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (186 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (186 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (186 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (186 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (186 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (186 reputation)

Group: General Forum Members
Hi all,

I have an OLTP Database and we are currently planning to build a datawarehouse and a cube and then reports over the cube. I am totally new to OLAP. Please help me figure out the solution by explaining the below question.

I have 5 tables in my OLTP.

User(id, login, fname, lname)
Proj(id, name, desc, website)
members(id, user_id, project_id)
roles(id, name)
member_roles(id, member_id, role_id)

Now, I have to figure out Dimensions and Facts from these tables (STAR SCHEMA). I am a newbie to this total terminology.

From my readings I figured out, that I will need,

DimProj(ProjectKey, Pid, name, desc, website)
DimRole(RoleKey, Rid, name)
DimUser(UserKey, UID, login, fname, lname)
Fact_MemberRoles(MemberRoleKey, UserID, RoleID, ProjID)

Is this correct?? Please correct and show me a way to move ahead.

Thanks

Good Luck Smile .. Visit www.sqlsaga.com for more t-sql code snippets and BI related how to articles.
Evil Kraig F
Evil Kraig F
SSCertifiable
SSCertifiable (6.3K reputation)SSCertifiable (6.3K reputation)SSCertifiable (6.3K reputation)SSCertifiable (6.3K reputation)SSCertifiable (6.3K reputation)SSCertifiable (6.3K reputation)SSCertifiable (6.3K reputation)SSCertifiable (6.3K reputation)

For warehouses, particulary for cubes, you need to start with 'what questions do I want to ask of the data?' This will help inform you of what are facts and what are dimensions. Incredibly short form: Facts can answer questions, Dimensions will describe facts.