Ambition

• Ambition

I'll never be a C-level executive, at least not in any large company. I guess I might end up the CSO for my wife's horse business. That's Chief Scooping Officer for those of you not familiar with rural corporate structure.

I saw this article last week about Microsoft's purchase of TellMe, a speech software company. Apparently Steve Ballmer missed the Super Bowl to negotiate a deal.

As much as I'm a professional and I understand there's a time to work, I also believe there's a time not to work. I don't think I'd miss the Super Bowl to negotiate a deal. It's an event and the deal would still be there in 4 hours. Just like not every crisis is a crisis and needs you to drop everything and go.

I wouldn't miss a birthday, anniversary, or any important family event unless something was really critically broken. And most of the times I've been called or paged, it wasn't for something that required immediate attention. Unlike lots of ambitious people I've worked with.

I have worked above and beyond when it's needed. However I've also refused more than my share of times because things were not critical.

I wouldn't tell anyone not to work if they feel they should. I just hope that most of you learn how to tell the difference between when you're really needed and when it can wait.

PS - Take our SQL Server 2005 Adoption Survey and get the results next week.

• I worked in military electronics for 20 years and most times everything was an emergency, especially on ships. But, in my 9 years working IT for a mid-size not for profit I've learned to slow down and respect family time. It seems though we become more relient on email, phones, etc. and some people can't work if their device is not working.

I'm not sure if the computers serve us or vice-versa!