Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.
 
Log in  ::  Register  ::  Not logged in
 
 
 

The Smiling DBA

Thomas LeBlanc ( MCITP 2005/2008 & MCDBA 2000) is a Senior SQL Server DBA at Turner Industries, LLC in Baton Rouge, LA. He has been in the IT field for 21 years starting as a COBOL programmer, graduating to dBase, FoxPro, Visual FoxPro, upgrading to Visual Basic versions 3-6 and even some .Net(C#). Designing and developing normalized database has become his passion. Full-time DBA work started about 9 years ago for Thomas while working at a Paper Mill in St. Francisville, LA continuing with IEM, then Amedisys. Performance tuning and reviewing database design and code was an everyday occurrence for DBAs at Amedisys. Thomas’ free time is spent helping those less fortunate and improving his relationship with his family and God.

PASS Data Architecture VC presents Neil Hambly–Improve Data Quality & Integrity using Constraint

Tuesday’s (June 19th, 2012) PASS Data Architecture Virtual Chapter has Neil talks about database design that uses Constraints for Integrity and Performance.

We will also be giving away an Amazon gift card plus someone gets a book - Itzik’s T-SQL Fundamentals.

If you would like to volunteer for this VC, please email PASS_DA_VC@HotMail.com

Subject: Improve Data Quality & Integrity using Constraints

Start Time: Tuesday, June 19th, 2012 12:00 PM US Central Time (6:00 PM GMT)

End Time: Tuesday, June 19th, 2012 1:00 PM US Central Time (7:00 PM GMT)

Presenter: Nail Hambly 

Live Meeting Link: Attendees LiveMeeting

Leverage the power of Constraints to improve both Data Quality and Performance of your databases. Powerful Data Entity & Referential Integrity can be achieved using the different constraints available in SQL Server. Discover how to utilize the full range of constraints available Default, Check, Unique, Foreign and Primary keys. Learn how to use DBCC commands to validate data conforms to
constraints, handle Nulls and gain real-world performance tips.

 

Neil Hambly is a SQL veteran with over 13 years’ expertise in SQL Server from
Version 6.5 through to the very latest 2012 edition. Neil has held Database
roles at major organizations {BBC, ABN AMRO, ACCENTURE} as well as market
leading smaller companies, experienced in DBA, Developer & Architect roles. Neil is an speaker at conferences and user groups. UG Leader of the London Area SQL Server User Group (UK) often seen presenting at UK & international events. Just loves SQL!!!

Add to calendarAdd to calendar

Comments

Leave a comment on the original post [thesmilingdba.blogspot.com, opens in a new window]

Loading comments...