Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.
 
Log in  ::  Register  ::  Not logged in
 
 
 

The Smiling DBA

Thomas LeBlanc ( MCITP 2005/2008 & MCDBA 2000) is a Senior SQL Server DBA at Turner Industries, LLC in Baton Rouge, LA. He has been in the IT field for 21 years starting as a COBOL programmer, graduating to dBase, FoxPro, Visual FoxPro, upgrading to Visual Basic versions 3-6 and even some .Net(C#). Designing and developing normalized database has become his passion. Full-time DBA work started about 9 years ago for Thomas while working at a Paper Mill in St. Francisville, LA continuing with IEM, then Amedisys. Performance tuning and reviewing database design and code was an everyday occurrence for DBAs at Amedisys. Thomas’ free time is spent helping those less fortunate and improving his relationship with his family and God.

PASS Data Architecture VC presents: Audrey Hammonds–Database Makeover: Renovate Your Data Model

Subject: Database Makeover: Renovate Your Data Model

Start Time:   Thursday, January 19, 2011 12:00 PM US Central Time (January 19, 2011 6:00 PM GMT)

End Time:  Thursday, January 19, 2011 1:00 PM US Central Time (January 19, 2011 7:00 PM GMT)

Presenter:  Audrey Hammonds (Blog|@DataAudrey)

Live Meeting Link:  https://www.livemeeting.com/cc/UserGroups/join?id=QZCH9D&role=attend&pw=g3d%3F%7BspDw

Database Makeover: Renovate Your Data Model
You know the concepts of normalization, logical modeling, and physical implementation. But what happens when you’ve inherited a less than perfect data model? You need to renovate while keeping the production system humming. In this session, we’ll talk about how to evaluate an existing model, how to approach design when your system is up and running and how to incrementally apply database design changes in a fast-moving environment. Every database, even ones consisting of a collection of flat, unrelated tables, has the potential to become a beautiful database. All you need is an eye for design and a strategy to get you there.

Audrey Hammonds
Audrey Hammonds is a Database Developer for ista North America in Atlanta, GA and a SQL Server MVP. Fifteen years ago, she volunteered for DBA training to escape COBOL, and never looked back. A firm believer that good fundamentals and solid design can save a database professional’s sanity, she has devoted much of her career to designing (hopefully) elegant databases and straightening up others’ not-so-elegant databases. She blogs at http://datachix.com with her partner in crime, Julie Smith.

Add to calendarAdd to calendar

Comments

Leave a comment on the original post [thesmilingdba.blogspot.com, opens in a new window]

Loading comments...