http://www.sqlservercentral.com/blogs/sqlservernotesfromthefield/2011/05/31/speaking-at-24-hours-in-the-cloud/

Printed 2014/07/31 12:14AM

Speaking at 24 Hours in the Cloud

By Geniiius, 2011/05/31

On June 1st GITCA will run a 24 hour round-the-world virtual event focusing on Cloud Computing. Please visit http://sp.GITCA.org/sites/24Hours for more information. For a complete list of speakers click here. For the complete schedule click here.

image003

We at Geniiius will be presenting two sessions:

Extreme Scaling with SQL Azure 6:00AM (PST) / 15:00 (GMT+1)
SQL Azure is Microsoft’s new strategy for storing your data in the cloud, but what to do when you exceed the 10/50GB limit. This is where sharding or partitioning comes into play – this session shows you how it can be done in an OLTP system and show you some of the common pitfalls of SQL azure as we have discovered in analyzing SQL Azure as an alternative to onsite SQL Server instances at different clients.

SQL Azure performance tuning and monitoring 7:00AM (PST) / 16:00 (GMT+1)
SQL Azure has by many been called a black box including myself, in this session I’ll demonstrate that it is not totally true. I’ll demonstrate what information is available, and how you can use the information available to make your system run faster.

After and during the sessions Martin Schmidt will be available for Q&A on Twitter.

If you have any questions that you don’t want to post on twitter, please feel free to send them to us via email.

@ms1333


Copyright © 2002-2014 Simple Talk Publishing. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Terms of Use. Report Abuse.