Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Redgate
Log in  ::  Register  ::  Not logged in

James Serra's Blog

James is currently a Senior Business Intelligence Architect/Developer and has over 20 years of IT experience. James started his career as a software developer, then became a DBA 12 years ago, and for the last five years he has been working extensively with Business Intelligence using the SQL Server BI stack (SSAS, SSRS, and SSIS). James has been at times a permanent employee, consultant, contractor, and owner of his own business. All these experiences along with continuous learning has helped James to develop many successful data warehouse and BI projects. James has earned the MCITP Business Developer 2008, MCITP Database Administrator 2008, and MCITP Database Developer 2008, and has a Bachelor of Science degree in Computer Engineering. His blog is at .

SQL Server “Denali”: New Certifications

According to the post SQL Server “Denali” Experts–We Need You! that asks for your feedback on the Microsoft certifications for the next version of SQL Server, there will be seven exams:

Four certification exams are planned for SQL Server “Denali” Business Intelligence roles:

  • Writing queries with Transact-SQL (T-SQL)
  • ETL Developer or Data Warehouse Developer. People in this role cleanse data using Data Quality Services, develop and manage ETL jobs and packages, and create and implement data warehouses.
  • BI Developer. People in this role implement multi-dimensional data models, implement and maintain OLAP cubes, and create information displays used in business decision making.
  • BI Architect. People in this role are responsible for the overall design of the BI infrastructure, including how it relates to other data systems in use.

Four certification exams are planned for SQL Server “Denali” database professionals who do not perform business intelligence functions:

  • Writing queries with Transact-SQL (T-SQL)
  • Implementing, Configuring, and Maintaining  Microsoft® SQL Server®
  • Building, Supporting, and Developing Databases for Microsoft® SQL Server®
  • Designing Database Solutions for Microsoft® SQL Server®

Since “Writing queries with Transact-SQL (T-SQL)” is required for both roles, and each role has three unique exams, that totals seven exams.  That is one more than SQL Server 2008 has, and splits into two roles (“Business Intelligence” and “Database Professionals”), while SQL Server 2008 has three roles (“Database Administrator”, “Database Developer”, and “Business Intelligence Developer”).

These new breakouts seem more logical for today’s environments, and give more importance to business intelligence, which is the direction Microsoft has been going for the last few years.  It will be interesting to see what “Upgrade Paths” Microsoft will have for those of us who have taken the SQL Server 2008 exams.


Posted by Jason Brimhall on 20 July 2011

I find this very interesting.

Posted by Dukagjin Maloku on 21 July 2011

Thanks for the info! Really, interesting how the upgrade will be done from 2k8 to 2k11 and do they contain more for SQL Azure inside or it will be separated exam just for SQL Azure!

Posted by erico on 25 July 2011

James, thanks for fetching this info so quickly. It's a reminder for those of us who are 2 versions behind to hit the books!

Posted by Anonymous on 25 July 2011

Pingback from  Patches for SQL 10 and Techniques for SQL 11 « Voice of the DBA

Leave a Comment

Please register or log in to leave a comment.