Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase

CHECK constraint Expand / Collapse
Author
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Saturday, July 10, 2010 1:27 PM
Hi, I am new to SQL databases and have been having trouble doing the following. I need to check that the the maximum value in one column of one table does not exceed the maximum value of one column in another table using a CHECK constraints. How do I do that if it does not allow me to use the MAX() function? The error message complains about the use of an aggregate function.

I can do it with a TRIGGER but is required to do it using a CHECK.

Help!!!
Post #950355
Posted Saturday, July 10, 2010 12:10 PM

SSCommitted

SSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommitted

Last Login: Sunday, October 19, 2014 10:29 AM
index_us (7/10/2010)
Hi, I am new to SQL databases and have been having trouble doing the following. I need to check that the the maximum value in one column of one table does not exceed the maximum value of one column in another table using a CHECK constraints. How do I do that if it does not allow me to use the MAX() function? The error message complains about the use of an aggregate function.

I can do it with a TRIGGER but is required to do it using a CHECK.

Help!!!

You can create a scalar value function that returns the max value from TableB. In TableA you create a check constraint that looks something like this (function also included):

create function GetMaxFromTableB()
returns int
as
begin
declare @ret int
select @ret=max(colB) from TableB
return @ret
end;

alter table TableA add constraint chkFunnyCheck check (colA<=dbo.GetMaxFromTableB());