Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.
 
Log in  ::  Register  ::  Not logged in
 
 
 
        
Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On


Add to briefcase

AS2008 - Change settings (Process) does not keep changed settings Expand / Collapse
Author
Message
Posted Friday, March 19, 2010 7:16 AM
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Thursday, July 15, 2010 4:57 AM
Points: 2, Visits: 16
According to hint "Do not ignore duplicate key errors." ( http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb630297.aspx ) it is strongly advised to change the default setting of processing a cube or dimension. (Status warning: medium)

How To: Hit Process Icon > Process Cube Dialog > [Change settings...] > Change Settings Dialog (Two tab window)> Tab: Dimension key errors > Use custom error configuration > Specific error conditions become changeable > Change Duplicate Key from "ignore error" to either "Report and continue" or "Report and stop".
Reason: It is said that it can be difficult to detect problems with incorrect key columns, incorrectly defined attribute relationships or data consistency issues. Instead of using the "Ignore Error" setting, it is typically better to correct your design and clean the data.

Seems to be a reasonable suggestion!

However, by implementing this suggestion, I noticed that changing this setting is not accepted somehow. Although, I have not seen this warning deploying my own fresh build cube, it's one of those warnings which persists in the tutorial of AdventureWorksDW2008, which I use as a sort of guide (http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms170208.aspx).
Changing the process default settings, in both cases (tutorial and my own) and deploying those cubes again, in both cases: "Deployment Successfully", I noticed that the settings are reset to default. Moreover, trying to change to custom setting at the server: no luck as well! As well on the server as within the analysis projects, every change is directly reset to default values (at cube level and at dimension level). On top of this, trying to let the system write to a log file, is not possible either.

Questions:
Is this because changing to custom settings is not supported at a standard edition of Analysis Service? No such message did pop up.

Why does Analysis Services Project reset to default values instead of keeping changes as suggested???
Post #886340
Posted Friday, March 19, 2010 9:15 AM


SSCommitted

SSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommitted

Group: Moderators
Last Login: Sunday, April 13, 2014 11:43 PM
Points: 1,781, Visits: 3,340
Are you saying that when you select the option to Ignore Errors, that when processing, this selection is ignored?

If you're *not* saying that, but that, it works when you select these options, but when you come back to the cube/database (either in project or from server instance), these settings are back to default? If this is what you're seeing, AFAIK, that is by design. You have the choice *every* time you process, to change what the error handling approach will be. The choice isn't saved to the DB or cube, you make it every time you process.



Steve.
Post #886463
Posted Monday, March 22, 2010 2:32 AM
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Thursday, July 15, 2010 4:57 AM
Points: 2, Visits: 16
Dear Steve,

No, that's NOT what I saying. I'm saying: According ( http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb630297.aspx ), it is strongly advised to change the default setting of the Duplicate Key property which is the "Ignore Errors" during "processing" a cube or dimension, to the "custom error configuration" either "Report and Continue" or "Report and Stop".

I am saying: this desired change is not kept by the system either in the designer (client environment (if I may say so) nor at the server (SSAS DB).

I like to minimize possible "false positives" and if they exists to have them logged.

Possibly, the fact I'm not able to change this default setting to the desired custom setting has something to do with the fact that, at the server, AS DB is not possible to log to a certain log file because the Allowed Browsing Folders property can NOT be set AS DB can only log to some default folder setting such as the folder for back-up.
Post #887211
« Prev Topic | Next Topic »

Add to briefcase

Permissions Expand / Collapse