Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase

Beginner at replication - How can you tell how often replication kicksoff? Expand / Collapse
Author
Posted Monday, September 28, 2009 12:44 PM
SSC-Enthusiastic

SSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-Enthusiastic

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Friday, June 13, 2014 6:57 PM
I'm a beginner at replication, and trying to look at an existing replication job. From server A to server B. Looks like its just one-way replication. with a A being the publisher/Distributor, and B, being the subscriber. Is there a way to tell how often replication kicksoff? a scheduler of some type? Need to answer the question "is replication occuring every 5, 10, or 15 minutes?" or is it constant, every time a change occurs on A, is B automatically updated. Basically a continuous update/replication?
Post #794689
Posted Monday, September 28, 2009 3:25 PM

Hall of Fame

Hall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of Fame

Last Login: Today @ 1:59 PM
It depends.
It depends on the type of replication. If it is Snapshot replication, it will be scheduled to run at a certain interval. But if it is Transactional replication and set with immediate, then it will update as soon as a data is changed. (Of course there might be a small lag)

-Roy
Post #794792
Posted Monday, September 28, 2009 3:31 PM
SSC-Enthusiastic

SSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-Enthusiastic

How can I tell whether its snapshot or transactional? I'm thinking its just transactional, but I'll double check.
Post #794797
Posted Monday, September 28, 2009 3:32 PM
SSC-Enthusiastic

Ok, its transactional.
Post #794798
Posted Monday, September 28, 2009 3:33 PM
SSC-Enthusiastic