Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase

Conditional statement in a control flow Expand / Collapse
Author
Grasshopper

GrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopper

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Saturday, July 18, 2009 5:10 PM
To preface, I am a newbie to SSIS. I would like to do the following but can not figure out how, any help would be appreciated.

I want to read multiple XML source files through a foreach loop. First looking to see if one field in the file exists and if so going to a data flow task and if it does not exists moving the file through File System Task and going to the next file.

I am aware of the conditional split data flow but how do I do a conditional statement in the control flow?

Thanks in advance.

Post #753719
Posted Wednesday, July 15, 2009 2:47 PM
SSC Veteran

SSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC Veteran

Last Login: Thursday, October 16, 2014 2:19 AM
Hi Michael,

You can use the variable expressions within the precedents constraints. You can store the results you want to check into a variable and then use this variable in an expression like (@varName == true) within the precedents constraints which then splits the flow to the tasks of your choice.

see msdn online : http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms140153(SQL.90).aspx

Post #753832
Posted Wednesday, July 15, 2009 2:54 PM
Grasshopper

GrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopper

Thank You.

Can I set a variable within the data flow task after a conditional split without using a script component (not sure how to write the code to do that)?