Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase 123»»»

/3GB Switch Expand / Collapse
Author

SSC Journeyman

SSC JourneymanSSC JourneymanSSC JourneymanSSC JourneymanSSC JourneymanSSC JourneymanSSC JourneymanSSC Journeyman

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Friday, June 3, 2011 4:58 PM
There is one requirement that I have to edit boot.ini file and make /3GB switch on in Vista. I am not able to do that. I am a sql server DBA and I used to do this when I used to use win2000 and XP.

-MJ

-MJ
Please do not print mails and docx unless it is absolutely necessary. Spread environmental awareness.
Post #744511
Posted Tuesday, June 30, 2009 9:13 AM

SSC-Forever

SSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-ForeverSSC-Forever

Last Login: Today @ 9:22 AM
MichaelJasson (6/30/2009)
There is one requirement that I have to edit boot.ini file and make /3GB switch on in Vista.

Why do you want to do that?

Gail Shaw
Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server 2008, MVP
SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter
We stand on the bridge and no one may pass

Post #744513
Posted Tuesday, June 30, 2009 1:35 PM
SSCarpal Tunnel

SSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal Tunnel

Last Login: Friday, December 12, 2014 12:03 PM
I wouldn't think you would want to do that on Vista. If you are running on x86 hardware, then the maximum memory you are going to be able to address is 3GB. Setting that switch won't leave any memory to the OS.

If you are running x64 - that switch won't do anything anyways.

So, I'm with Gail on this one - why do you want to do this?

Jeffrey Williams