Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase «««1234»»

Polymorphed Proc Expand / Collapse
Author
Hall of Fame

Hall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of Fame

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Yesterday @ 2:29 PM
IANAL^HDBA ???

Regards
Rudy Komacsar
Senior Database Administrator

"Ave Caesar! - Morituri te salutamus."
Post #676919
Posted Monday, March 16, 2009 2:44 PM
SSC-Addicted

SSC-AddictedSSC-AddictedSSC-AddictedSSC-AddictedSSC-AddictedSSC-AddictedSSC-AddictedSSC-Addicted

Last Login: Monday, June 16, 2014 4:03 AM
IANAL = I Am Not A Lawyer
^H = control-H = backspace 1 char (old Teletype/CPM/MS-DOS control sequence), gives IANA = I Am Not A
DBA = .. this is left as an exercise for the reader !

I considered just using 'IANADBA', but this is not a standard (or maybe it is in this forum!)

Apologies for any confusion ...
Post #676940
Posted Tuesday, March 17, 2009 1:08 AM
Ten Centuries

Ten CenturiesTen CenturiesTen CenturiesTen CenturiesTen CenturiesTen CenturiesTen CenturiesTen Centuries

Last Login: Friday, August 10, 2012 6:08 PM
The reason it works is far simpler than it seems.

Essentially 2 calls are made:
1. Create a proc named "GO".
2. Execute that proc.

The code is loaded into memory when EXECuted. The loaded "in-memory" version of the code has no bearing on the PROC being created/modified/run/dropped, and as such remains unchanged.

The result set(s) and messages ultimately belong to the initial in-memory code EXECution, not the modified saved and re-executed instance(s).

Only when execution exits, does the code become vaporware.