Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase «««2122232425»»»

T-Sql rant Expand / Collapse
Author
Valued Member

Valued MemberValued MemberValued MemberValued MemberValued MemberValued MemberValued MemberValued Member

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Wednesday, June 1, 2011 9:06 AM
I feel Im running the risk of being lynched, but I agree in general with foxjaaz.

Im a database developer but I too am frustrated with the snail pace at which t-sql range and syntax has been ... well not really evolving.

Why cant t-sql be made to be more like a "modern" language, rather than some COBOL esque language that it is now. Why cant we declare constants, define packages, finer grained exception handling, autonomous transactions, basically most of whats already been in PL/SQL for years? Until 2008 you couldnt even declare and initaliase variables at the same time! You cant really blame people for looking at t-sql and thinking "how backward is this".

Why not get rid of some of the redundant syntax, C# did it by getting rid of the SET keyword, why not lose it in t-sql. Curly braces instead of BEGIN...END, sure why not?

At least give us a choice, so if you want to write COBOL, sorry T-SQL, or use perhaps a more familiar c# type syntax then let the writer choose. And expand t-sqls language constructs so I can do some "proper" development, without having to constantly bend the good coding rules because of limitations in t-sql.

Post #678464
Posted Wednesday, March 18, 2009 7:59 AM

SSCoach

SSCoachSSCoachSSCoachSSCoachSSCoachSSCoachSSCoachSSCoachSSCoachSSCoachSSCoach

Last Login: Friday, June 27, 2014 12:43 PM
kevin.reynolds (3/18/2009)
I feel Im running the risk of being lynched, but I agree in general with foxjaaz.

Im a database developer but I too am frustrated with the snail pace at which t-sql range and syntax has been ... well not really evolving.