Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase ««12

generating and storing a counter Expand / Collapse
Author

SSCrazy

SSCrazySSCrazySSCrazySSCrazySSCrazySSCrazySSCrazySSCrazy

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Sunday, November 4, 2012 12:23 PM

Your DBAs are RIGHT

Hi Noel

Thank you for this information! I still do not really know why but I don't have to. I'm an architect and only need to know that I have to avoid IDENTITIY columns ;)

Greets
Flo

The more I learn, the more I know what I do not know
Blog: Things about Software Architecture, .NET development and T-SQL

How to Post Data/Code to get the best Help How to Post Performance Problems
Post #669694
Posted Thursday, March 5, 2009 2:31 PM

SSC Eights!

SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!

Last Login: Thursday, July 24, 2014 4:22 PM
Luckily I haven't ran into replication much. Because as the only technology seems to be the defacto where I work is clustering or nothing heh. But for replication issues; I would think Identity column causes issues in Merge replications correct? Because seed values might be different in two different nodes?

But aside from that in stand alone databases, mirroring, etc. Is there anywhere you guys have found Identity column to be a bad choice? Thanks.

---

Mohit K. Gupta, MCITP: Database Administrator (2005), My Blog, Twitter: @SQLCAN.
Microsoft FTE - SQL Server PFE

* Some time its the search that counts, not the finding...
* I didn't think so, but if I was wrong, I was wrong. I'd rather do something, and make a mistake than be frightened and be doing nothing.

How to ask for help .. Read Best Practices here.
Post #669695
Posted Thursday, March 5, 2009 2:37 PM

SSCrazy

Okay I suspected that this discussion will start now...