Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase 12345»»»

Oracle DB backup Expand / Collapse
Author
Ten Centuries

Ten CenturiesTen CenturiesTen CenturiesTen CenturiesTen CenturiesTen CenturiesTen CenturiesTen Centuries

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Monday, June 23, 2014 6:03 AM
Hi,
I am new to oracle, could anyone tell me how to take the backup for oracle database with sybtax / using GUI( & how to use it ?) ?

Regards,
Abhijit More
Post #534875
Posted Friday, August 1, 2008 5:56 AM

Hall of Fame

Hall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of Fame

Last Login: Tuesday, January 28, 2014 8:15 AM
I being working with Oracle for 10+ years now and never heard of something called "sybtax", what's that?

Author of Understanding Database Administration available at Amazon and other bookstores.

Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.
Post #545038
Posted Friday, August 1, 2008 2:56 PM
Old Hand

Old HandOld HandOld HandOld HandOld HandOld HandOld HandOld Hand

Last Login: Sunday, August 3, 2014 3:03 PM
Hi PaulB,
Apart from this 'sybtax', could you share a little about the database backup methodology in Oracle. Being an Oracle developer for long in past and now SQL Server developer did not have exposeure to backups. What I know about and use is just exporting schemas to .dmp and importing back.

Sincerely,
Maz

-----------------------------------------------------------
Time Is Money
Calculating the Number of Business Hours Passed since a Point of Time
Calculating the Number of Business Hours Passed Between Two Points of Time
Post #545495