Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase 123»»»

Schema dilemma Expand / Collapse
Author
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Thursday, May 7, 2009 5:19 AM
Hi,

I'm really having a hard time with the problem that I'm encountering, so this is my very first time to ask something in any forum.
I guess this is the best sql forum that I've been to. Anyway, here is my dilemma.

Inside my SP:
IF EXISTS (select topiccode from topic_status where topiccode = @topiccode and status = @status)
begin
delete from topic_status ...;
insert into topic_status ...;
update topic_status ...;
end

Above is actually a simple query if you notice, but now I was told that we need to add the schemaname and incorporate it in every command. The schemaname will be of course an input parameter.

with schema:
IF EXISTS (select topiccode from [companyA].[topic_status] where topiccode = @topiccode and status = @status)

@schemaname varchar(25)

So basically, to add the @schemaname, I need to put the command in string before executing the said command, easy? well, not really for me:

declare @sql varchar(max) -- I need this to run the if exists command

select @sql = 'IF EXISTS (select topiccode from [' + @schemaname + '].[topic_status] where topiccode = ''' + @topiccode + ''' and status = ''' + @status + ''') print 1 else print 0'

exec(@sql)

Of course this will run, but how can I get the value of 1 if it exists and 0 if it doesn't.

Using "print' will just write the value, I've tried using "return" but it doesn't work and even instead of using
the "print/return" I tried "set @returnval = 1 else set @returnval = 0"; which returns again an error.

I also tried this:
set @returnval = exec(@sql) -- of course it wont work