Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase

SQL Injection question Expand / Collapse
Author
SSC-Enthusiastic

SSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-Enthusiastic

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Wednesday, January 22, 2014 6:38 AM
I've read plenty of articles regarding SQL injection with web browsers to understand the dangers & strategies for preventing them, but would like a simple answer to another type of injection. Is it possible for SQL injection to happen with fat client applications? I think the answer is yes, but since I'm not a developer, I'm not certain & would like know. If I'm correct then I need to lean on our developers or help find new tools to automate the testing.

Thanks

:)
Post #473046
Posted Friday, March 21, 2008 12:55 PM

SSCrazy Eights

SSCrazy EightsSSCrazy EightsSSCrazy EightsSSCrazy EightsSSCrazy EightsSSCrazy EightsSSCrazy EightsSSCrazy EightsSSCrazy EightsSSCrazy Eights

Last Login: Wednesday, October 15, 2014 9:14 AM
Yes, absolutely. and with 3-tier and n-tier apps also.

-- RBarryYoung, (302)375-0451 blog: MovingSQL.com, Twitter: @RBarryYoung
Proactive Performance Solutions, Inc.
"Performance is our middle name."
Post #473061
Posted Saturday, March 22, 2008 8:54 PM

SSC-Dedicated

SSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-Dedicated

Group: Administrators
Last Login: Yesterday @ 12:34 PM
Any application that allows the user to type in data is vulnerable. Only if the application allowed users to click buttons or make pre-set selections would this not be a problem.

Even entering a name in a field, I could enter Jones';shutdown and stop the server if you were vulnerable to Injection.

Follow me on Twitter: @way0utwest