Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase 1234»»»

Foreign key constraints in data warehouses Expand / Collapse
Author
Posted Thursday, February 7, 2008 12:20 PM
Grasshopper

GrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopperGrasshopper

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Tuesday, November 20, 2012 4:22 PM
I am just learning about data warehousing and business intelligence, and reading Ralph Kimball’s excellent book “The Data Warehouse Toolkit, Second Edition”.

In dimensional modeling, many of the fact table fields are foreign keys that link to the primary keys of dimension tables. My question is, when the data warehouse database is implemented in SQL Server 2005, is there any point to adding SQL Server foreign key constraints between the fact and the dimension tables? The data should have already been cleansed in the loading process, and adding foreign key constraints doesn’t automatically index the foreign key fields – the fields have to be indexed separately. It seems that foreign key constraints might add complexity, slow processing, and provide no benefit.

Any opinions?
Post #452895
Posted Thursday, February 7, 2008 12:54 PM
SSCrazy

SSCrazySSCrazySSCrazySSCrazySSCrazySSCrazySSCrazySSCrazy

Last Login: Thursday, July 17, 2014 7:55 AM
The cleansing routine is done during the ETL process. After the data loaded into the dimension table, it is not guaranteed that no one would delete it.
To put a foreign key in the fact table is used for data integrity.
Post #452912
Posted Friday, March 7, 2008 2:17 PM
SSC Eights!

SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!

Last Login: Today @ 11:43 AM