Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase ««123»»

Better Licensing Expand / Collapse
Author
Posted Monday, December 17, 2007 10:18 PM

SSCertifiable

SSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiable

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Today @ 6:44 PM
Wayne West (12/17/2007)
It depends on the version of SQL Server. Technically (I studied this earlier this year) if you're running SS 2000 Standard Edition, if I recall correctly you have to have a license for each named instance. If you're running Enterprise 2000, you can have an unlimited number of instances on the same server with no change in licensing.

I also looked at the licensing requirements for 2K5 but I don't recall them off-hand.

I believe that you also get licenses for development through certain MS subscriptions, but I have no specifics on that.

The multi instance thing isn't true any more for SQL2005. Meaning - you can run multiple instances for no extra licensing under workgroup, standard and enterprise editions as long as you're dealing with a single OS instance. Different rules apply under VM's - but suffice it to say that if you license for all physical procs under Enterprise, you only need ONE copy of enterprise edition for all instance over all VM's (standard/WG needs to be licensed for each logical processor that VM sees.)

Developer Edition is licensed per tester seat - somewhere around 40-50$/per. That license covers any server components you want installed (again - not in a production setting).

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Your lack of planning does not constitute an emergency on my part...unless you're my manager...or a director and above...or a really loud-spoken end-user..All right - what was my emergency again?
Post #434140