Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase ««12345»»»

Who wants to be a SQL Server DBA? Expand / Collapse
Author
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Monday, November 21, 2011 1:31 PM
I have been using SQL Server for around 8 years and I have never, ever had to use a DBCC command. Why? Because I backup regularly and I design it "the right way' from the start, software and hardware wise.

Any DBA interviewer that asks you to know DBCC commands means that that shop isn't run correctly and has databases that are poorly designed and crashes regularly.

DBCC commands are wild goose chases when a siimple restore of backup is what's needed and needed ASAP.

Any DBA that thinks they need DBCC commands spends more time on DBA CERTIFICATION TESTING instead of producing reliable databases in a production environment that doesn't need constant maintenance. (By the way, that what SQL Server is designed for, to ELIMINATE this MAINTENANCE and HENCE the use of DBCC commands in the first place.)

When a DB crashes, do you think management and your customers have time for you to fish around using DBCC commands to figure out what's wrong? NO WAY!!!. It's restore, restore, restore and get it up and running, NOW!! Not tomorrow, not the end of the day, not a few hours, not one hour from now, but RIGHT NOW!!! All that time trying to figuring out wrong with DBCC commands could have been used to get a full restore up and running. Or for that matter, a partial restore or switch to the backup.

And by the way, DTS is total crap. If you are a DBA that says his shop uses it, it means they are ANTIQUATED and have to constantly support some legacy app with some GUI interface when t-SQL and SQL Server Agent will be far more powerful and more easily diagnosed.