Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase 123»»»

How to add new column in SSIS Package at run time Expand / Collapse
Author
SSCarpal Tunnel

SSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal Tunnel

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Wednesday, June 4, 2014 12:30 PM

Hi All,

I am new to SSIS, I created one new package and i want to add one new column in the destination table at package runtime.

How can do this

Anybody know this please tell me the solution.

Kindest Regards,

Sarath Vellampalli
Post #363612
Posted Monday, May 7, 2007 10:34 AM
SSC Veteran

SSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC Veteran

Last Login: Monday, October 25, 2010 10:10 AM
In the 'data flow' editor add the 'Derived Column' component between your source and destination. There you can add new columns as well as perform some clean up operations on the source columns. I typically use this to add the time the rows are being inserted and perform any kind of cleanup on the source data.

Hope this Helps!
--
Ben

Cheers,

Ben Sullins
bensullins.com
Beer is my primary key...
Post #363738
Posted Monday, May 7, 2007 10:26 PM
SSCarpal Tunnel

SSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal Tunnel

Hi Ben,

thanks for your help on SSIS, but how can use that task, can u tell me the procedure of 'Derived Column Task' for adding new column to destination table.

while i am trying to add new column to destination it shows some error like expression property was empty.

please send the steps of this task.

Kindest Regards,

Sarath Vellampalli
Post #363886
Posted Monday, May 7, 2007 11:49 PM

SSCommitted

SSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommitted