Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase 123»»»

DBA Learning Experiences (Oops!) Expand / Collapse
Author
SSC Eights!

SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Tuesday, November 5, 2013 9:05 AM
I am Robert Marda and am hoping to spark some constructive conversation here. This is the first of a few topic ideas I have.

I have been working with SQL Server and SQL since March 1999. I was given my first DBA position in May 1999.

Within my first month as a DBA I successfully
deleted all rows in our main table - Oops!(containing the location and serial numbers of all computer components used to produce ID cards at US military bases). The deletion was not intentional but happened due to my lack of SQL knowledge and the fact that we had no development nor testing environment (a very bad combination). Thankfully I had run a full backup recently and was able to restore from that.

Because of this experience, I usually develop all queries as a SELECT to ensure I see only what I want to change before converting the SELECT to a DELETE or UPDATE statement. One of my philosophies is "What you see is what will be changed."

Robert Marda
SQL Programmer
bigdough.com

Robert W. Marda
SQL Programmer
Ipreo
Post #2074
Posted Thursday, January 3, 2002 8:49 AM
SSC Eights!

SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!SSC Eights!

I forgot to post an invitation for others to add your own learning experiences here. Please add experiences you've had that taught you a valuable lesson about being a DBA (or SQL Programmer)

Robert Marda
SQL Programmer
bigdough.com

Robert W. Marda
SQL Programmer
Ipreo
Post #25644
Posted Thursday, January 3, 2002 9:06 AM

Keeper of the Duck

Keeper of the Duck

Group: Moderators
Last Login: Friday, October 24, 2014 7:50 AM